The Most Important Meal of the Day

When you hear that phrase, you know what I’m talking about – breakfast, of course. Apparently, it’s extremely important. But I have a confession; I very rarely eat breakfast.

I have recently realized how much it affects me.

By lunch time, I am starving and more importantly I am not focusing. I have no energy until after lunch. However I eat so much at lunch that I am tired in the afternoon as my body digests. I also eat a lot at dinner. Then I don’t eat again until lunch the next day. I’m trying to figure out how I got to this place but I can’t. All I know is that it has to change.

So I have been doing a bit of research on breakfast. Am I alone in skipping breakfast? Apparently 10% of Americans (I can never find Canadian studies on anything argh) do not eat breakfast at all – mainly people between age 18 – 35. I’m not alone! The majority of people who do have breakfast seem to be eating it inside their homes. This is the group I want to be a part of – eating breakfast, every day, inside my home.

There are tons of reasons to eat a good breakfast in the morning. Studies show it is linked to keeping a healthy weight – some even say, it helps with weight loss. Canadian Living posted a list of 8 reasons to eat breakfast each day. I can definitely attest to numbers 5 and 6 – I have no energy all morning and I binge later in the day because my body is starving. They also note that people who eat breakfast every day are less likely to be overweight. It makes sense – if you skip a meal and binge later, you’re not going to be losing weight.

Then I started looking into what kind of foods I should be eating in the mornings. It seems like very successful people eat some kind of smoothie variation in the morning. I get it, smoothies are easy and filling, they’re also healthy and portable. They’re basically perfect. I’m not a big smoothie person and also, I only own a juicer – no blender! I went on a real smoothie-for-breakfast kick earlier this year and it was good, but I’m more of a bowl person when it comes to breakfast.

My goal is to eat breakfast before work every day next week. It’s going to take some planning so that I can’t make any excuses to skip it. They have to be easy to make and delicious – I’m usually not hungry so early in the morning. My first choice of breakfast is this Greek yogurt parfait I found in this list of quick breakfasts:

IMG_4996edit-645x1019

[You can check out some of my other goals for the next few months here]

Leave a Reply

